Welcome!!!

I love all things craft related, card making, scrapbooking, drinkware, home decor, T-shirts you name it.

Since I cannot be the only one I thought why not start a blog to share my love, frustrations, tips and thoughts. If it helps someone along the way great if not then it’s good for me and that works too!!

So first who am I? My name is Kathy and I got bit by the DIY bug when planning my wedding in 2014. Almost everything decorative from the wedding was made by myself, my husband or my sister and brother in-law, we bought very few “finished” pieces.

After the wedding I found myself with free time, and found I very much enjoyed making things, and having projects going, so I purchased a used Cricut Expression to play on and was hooked. Fast forward to Black Friday in 2015 and I got a great deal on a Cricut Explore One and graduated from scrapbooking and paper crafts (which I still do just for me and the fun of it) and moved into Vinyl, working on glassware, home decor etc.

I launched Kathys Kreations quietly at the end of 2015 doing local craft shows where I offered custom glassware items as well as home decor items, upcycled wine bottles, mason jars etc. Beginning of show season in 2016 myself and my daughter launched full force.

Things I learned in year 1. People LOVE custom items, BUT have zero vision. If you set a table full of glasses out with nothing on them and tell people you are able to customize them onsite, most people keep walking, there are so many options to choose they have no idea what to choose. However if you have a table full of items already “designed” people not only stop to look they shop as well. Then add on I can also customize glasses that it is the key. Year one I brought only blank wine glasses, coffee mugs etc and a HUGE sign that offered customization. Sales were terrible, I was selling home decor items so focused there and kept going.

Also in 2017 I got the brilliant idea from my husband to make bath and body products in addition to the glassware and home decor items I already offered.

Year 2 2017. I got the opportunity to participate in events at a local mall for a fee. Thought to myself why not? It is built in foot traffic. So I signed up for a few weekends, and took my glassware goodies with me for selling. Those were long days….10a-9p Friday and Saturday 11-6 on Sunday with set up, tear down and traveling back and forth….BUT during those long days I would design glasses while there. This helped fill my time and people seemed interested so they would stop to see what I was doing. BINGO bringing people over to me. I noticed a trend during these weekends that MOST of my sales were coming from my “cash and carry” items, which would then get custom work going.

Year 3 2018. I signed up for a local summer market on Friday nights near my house BUT no power so custom orders on site not really and option for me. So I made a HUGE selection of pre-designed glassware and home decor items for display. It was fantastic! Record sales on those nights and I did not have to make anything on site to less equipment to pack which is always a plus. I adopted this practice for my indoor shows as well, mostly designed items both glassware and home decor, BUT brought my equipment along so I could customize as well. I had record sales at those shows as well and found most of the “custom” work I did was simply remaking glasses that were selling well.

Also in 2018….I joined a DS company called Chalk Couture. I usually never do direct sales because I have worked hard building Kathy’s Kreations and do not want it to suffer in anyway because my attention is elsewhere. However I did join Chalk Couture because it is a DIY home decor company that allows me to create amazing home decor items that I can sell under my Kathys Kreations name, as well as participate in shows that might already have a wine glass person but not a Chalk Couture Vendor.

I had originally signed up so I could make pretty things and enjoy the designer discount, however have quickly found that I really LOVE this company and want to share it with everyone I know! So have started building a team and making another business out of it.

So Now 4 months into 2019 I currently work Kathy’s Kreations which has finally gotten to the point that I get orders via email and facebook etc, thanks largely inpart to the market I did last summer. I also work Burmans Bath and Body which I will admit is mostly for friends and family etc. I don’t do alot of craft shows for just that one as the market is fairly saturated. And I am working my Chalkin About It chalk couture business, as well as working full time, to say I am busy is an understatement. But I love it and have no intentions of slowing down anytime soon 🙂 Stay tuned here for more posts about all aspects of my crafty life.

Thanks for reading!!

Kathy.

Leave a comment